For the Love of Stilettos

I adore a fabulous pair of shoes. I love high heels.  No shoe, in my opinion, is as fantastic as a great pair of heels.  Of course, science and, seemingly, every older woman I have met tells me, “You know, wearing those things isn’t good for you.”

I’m really into health, but I am also really into fashion. According to a recent study, high heels affect the length of my calf muscles and put undo strain on tendons, which could result in injury or joint issues. Well, that’s a risk I am willing to take.  Those women over a certain age who always say, “I used to wear heels like that, but I can’t do it now. I just can’t.”  These same women “can’t” wear heels because they are no longer willing to endure the discomfort – not because of the potential to sustain injuries.  And there are some women who still wear heels well beyond 50.

We aren’t talking about artificial sweeteners– heels have been around forever – I don’t know anyone who said, “Oh, high heels ruined my life, my feet, my calf muscles.”

And with that, I will continue to adorn my feet with this fabulous accessory. I don’t think I need to list the reasons, fellow shoe girls, you know, you know why a perfect pair of stilettos makes everything better!

READ MORE ABOUT THE STUDY FROM THE NEW YORK TIMES: A Scientific Look at the Dangers of High Heels.

One comment

  1. Hi Dani,
    The feminist in me says it’s all wrong but I love to see women in stilettos. I agree with you whole-heatedly: they just make everything better.
    good post
    Rob.

Leave a Reply

