Get a Little, Give a Little

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Since joining the millions of voices on Twitter, I have connected with some very interesting people. Yesterday, however, I was inspired by one man’s website, actually, his cause. So, inspired in fact, not only did I immediately research and participate in the program, I am writing this blog to encourage you to do the same.

Consider this, how many times do you go to Starbucks in a month?

A week?

A day?

What if you could turn that indulgence into food for a starving child?

Or clean water for third world countries?

Or 400 trees planted in a rain forest? 

B1G1.com is that opportunity.

I’ll admit, I was skeptical. I perused the website. Checked out their info on Wikipedia and Googled the companies that participate – they have a great reach and, like I said, a phenomenal concept. Even better, you don’t have to be a mega-corporation to make a difference – they have donation opportunities for every budget.

I am a shopaholic, weekend Starbucks fiend and avid exerciser and guess what? When you build your “journal” at B1G1.com – all three of these luxurious habits are on the list, plus many more.  I can pledge to donate to the cause of my choice a standard amount, according to how often I indulge in each of these luxuries each day, week, month, quarter or year – it’s all up to me.

I started small to see what I was getting into. Last night, I donated my Starbucks habit to feeding hungry children. I compiled how often I visit Starbucks on average for three months and donated that amount through my PayPal account. Then I set a reminder to alert me when it’s time to donate again.

As I learn more about the program, I will expand my journal to include my shopping habit – the vice I can’t seem to shake… (Of course, now my shopping habit will be all in the name of a good cause!)

Check it out because wouldn’t it be great if we could all do a little to make a big difference?

Oh, and if you are as impressed as I am, don’t forget to share the love on social media or your blog. The more people who participate – the better this world will become!

Leave a Reply

