Enjoy the Great Outdoors

benefits of working out outside

As fall weather sweeps in and chills the heat of summer, you may want to consider taking your workout outdoors.

Improve motivation. Get active – outside.

A recent analysis out of the UK found that people who workout outdoors feel more revitalized and energized by their workouts, increasing their willingness to head out for future workouts (i.e., increased motivation.) The study also concluded that for many people, the gym increases tension dissuading you from activity at times.

You don’t have to get out of the gym for all your workouts, but you might find it inspiring to get active in breeze and sunshine of the great outdoors.

Personally, I like to mix things up. I have expanded my horizons recently, which has made me enjoy my workouts and workout more often. I keep my gym membership for strength training and spin class, but I make sure and pound the pavement outside. And, I have even found a few yoga classes on the beach – yoga on the sand intensifies the challenge.

Leave a Reply

