Sweet and Light Thanksgiving Day Dessert

low-calorie desserts

Pumpkin Caramel Mousse. A dessert from Recipes for Health on the NY Times Well blog.

I found this recipe when perusing The New York Times and I just think I might have to add it to my contribution to Thanksgiving dinner.  I don’t have a terribly bad sweet tooth, but I don’t mind having something a little sweet after a hearty meal. At just 177 calories and including one of my favorite delights, caramel, I just might try my hand at this one (or see if my husband will – he is far more talented in the kitchen than me!)

 

Click below for the full recipe from The New York Times: 

To End the Feast, Something Sweet but Light

Pumpkin Caramel Mousse in a Glass

  • 1/2 cup (125 grams) heavy cream
  • 2 tablespoons (25 grams) brown sugar
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • 3 tablespoons (45 grams) water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons (5 grams) gelatin
  • Scant 1/2 cup (100 grams) sugar for the caramel, plus an additional 3 tablespoons (45 grams) sugar for the meringue
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup (290 grams) plain canned pumpkin (no spices) or puréed roasted winter squash or pumpkin
  • 3 egg whites
  • 1/8 teaspoon cream of tartar
  • 1/4 cup (30 grams) toasted hazelnuts, finely chopped or crushed
Leave a Reply

