Weekend Damage Control: Happy Hour

When I was in my twenties, I used to believe that as long as I ate right and exercised Monday through Friday, I could splurge on the weekends. At that time, I was an optimistic nutritional counselor and most of my clients were women in their mid to late 30s and 40s. I could impart nutrition facts, recipe ideas and effective training tips as well as keep them motivated, but what I did not realize is that I was always handing off one tip that was not so weight control friendly. (Of course as a twenty-something, I had yet to experience the metabolism changes that occur with age.)

Now, more than ten years later, I know that bouncing back from a weekend of bingeing is not as feasible as I once believed.

What’s the solution to loving your weekends and staying on track with your weight loss and management goals?

weekend binge eating help

Follow this series of posts with a tip a day to keep your weekends and your healthy lifestyle goals right on track.

Weekend Damage Control Strategy #1

Keep tabs on Happy Hour. . .

healthier happy hourBefore Friday at five o’clock rolls around, decide how many drinks you are going to have and stick to it. Ask the server to bring you a coffee straw, lime or other garnish with each drink, so you can keep track of how many you have had. Choosing bottled beer or being aware of exactly how much wine the bar tender poured you can help you keep an eye on calorie counts. If you want something a little stronger, but still want to manage your calories, tequila on the rocks is a mere 80 calories.

Leave a Reply

