Music Makes the Workout Go 'Round

My husband used to make fun of me because I would go into a bit of a panic if I did not have my music. And, I have to be honest, without my music I lack the desire to workout. The beats are what fuel me to run faster, push further and keep on going in moments when I really, really just want to stop and give up.

Music aids the flow of energy into the body.

It turns out that making music a must-have during your workout is well, scientifically-proven to make your workouts better. Although the impact of music on workout performance dates as far back as the B.C. era, researchers continue to study just how it affects your workouts. At the University of Wisconsin’s Human Performance Laboratory, scientists have found that music aids the flow of energy into the body in the following ways:

music improves workouts

  • Changes heart rate
  • Affects blood pressure
  • Changes the metabolic rate
  • Reduces physical and mental stress
  • Reduces fatigue

 

 

“Music has the potential to make you more energy efficient. “

Dr. Costas Karageorphis, author of  Inside Sport Psychology, also studied the effects of music on the mind during exercise. When discussing his study results, he said, “. . .subjects who cycled in time to music found that they required 7 percent less oxygen to do the same work when compared to music playing in the background.The implication is that music has the potential to make you more energy efficient.” In his work he found that music helps athletes by:

  • Taking the mind off of the physical activity
  • Creating a human connection that causes an emotional touch
  • Keeping your body wanting to move to the beat
  • Improving your speed to stay with the tempo

“Music is like a legal drug for athletes.”

If you aim to keep with a certain beat per minute (bpm) of the music, you can use music to reach your peak potential. Make a playlist and synchronize your music to your movement to improve efficiency of your workouts.  “Music is like a legal drug for athletes,” says Dr. Karageorghis. His research has found that most people prefer music in a tempo range of 120 to 145 bpm for nearly all forms of exercise, stating, “This range appears to represent the optimal level of stimulation for exercise.”

4 comments

  1. SO TRUE! A good playlist can make or break a workout. I love it when people come up to me after a Spinning class and tell me they loved the music … I think it helps take your mind off of what you’re actually putting your body through 😉

    1. I feel the same way – the music can make or break a class. Just like it sets the tone for my personal workouts. Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. Music really helps my workouts too. Here are my favorites and why I love them:http://sheslosingit.net/2012/08/01/5-favorite-workout-songs-and-why/

    Lisa
    http://sheslosingit.net

  3. This is a universal subject. Music can set the mood for any occasion. I have had some killer workouts because of what I was listening to.

    My wife teaches spin and she obsesses over putting her play list together cause she knows how the people will respond.

Leave a Reply

