Take it to the Greek

greek salad dressing

Try this Greek salad recipe. Adapted from TheTalkingKitchen.com

Looking for a bold way to enjoy antioxidant rich vegetables? Try this delicious, flavorful salad complete with homemade dressing!

I love Greek food. There are several Greek restaurants in this area of Florida, so I have had the opportunity to sample a variety of Greek dishes recently.  Since clean eating is on my agenda for 2013, I am sticking with the fresh vegetables (although, I’m not going to lie, I love gyros with the lamb and tzatziki sauce!) So, my favorite for healthy eating is a Horiatiki salad with homemade Greek Salad dressing. The dressing is the key ingredient – and the store bought salads don’t cut it.

Since I don’t want to pay $11.95 per day to eat my new favorite salad, I decided to go on the hunt for a Greek dressing recipe that would make my homemade Horiatiki salad just as delicious as my favorite Greek restaurant. (Which by the way, if you live in South Florida, you should check out It’s All Greek hidden in west Boca – delicious and authentic!)

Thanks to Pinterest, my search was simple and ultimately delicious! This is a great health meal with bold flavor – the large chunks of vegetables really give the salad a hearty flavor than traditional lettuce salads.

Greek Salad Dressing

  • 3 Tbsp Extra Virgin Olive Oil
  • 2 Tbsp freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • 2 Tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1.25 tsp fresh oregano, chopped
  • 1.25 tsp fresh basil, chopped
  • 1 small clove garlic (~1/2 tsp garlic paste)
  • 1/2 tsp dijon mustard
  • 1/4 tsp honey
  • 1/2 tsp Himalayan Pink salt (substitute: sea salt)
  • 1/8 tsp freshly ground black pepper

Horiatiki Salad

Cut all vegetables into large chunks and mix in a bowl.

  • Tomato wedges
  • Cucumber wedges
  • Kalamata olives (pitted is easier to eat)
  • Red onion 
  • Green bell peppers
  • Pepperoncini
  • Chunks of feta cheese
2 comments

  1. This is such a nice recipe to match any meal!

    1. Thanks! I have really enjoyed it! And I’m no chef, so the simplicity of the recipe is great.

Leave a Reply

