Super Immune-Boosting Smoothie

Slushy1After the whole Dr. Oz Detox debacle, I decided to go on search for delicious smoothies to serve as meal and snack replacements, so I don’t have any “emergency” situations happening that force me to eat processed or fast foods.  This one has become a staple for me. Unless you have a juicer, it is really more like a slushy – you really need a spoon to eat it. This is courtesy of Food and Wine online, however, I made a few modifications.

.

Fresh Apple-Celery Juice Slushy with Ginger and Parsley:

  • 2 celery ribs, cut into 3 inch lengths
  • 1 Granny Smith apple, cored and cut into large chunks
  • 1 two-inch piece of fresh ginger, peeled
  • 1/2 medium bunch of parsley with stems**
  • 1 1/2 TBSP fresh lemon juice

*I couldn’t find fresh ginger at the store and I didn’t want to go all the way to Whole Foods and wade through the mob scene, so I used 1/4 teaspoon of ginger from my spice rack. I read that fresh and spiced ginger are not really interchangeable, but it seemed to work just fine.

**I hate parsley. It tastes like old, stagnant water, so I skipped the parsley all together.

Blender1In an electric juicer, juice the celery with the apple, ginger and parsley. Stir in the lemon juice.***

***I don’t have a juicer, I only have a blender – a really good at that.  I threw in the celery pieces, apple chunks, lemon juice and 1/4 teaspoon of ginger and blended.  As I prefaced in the intro, it is more like a slushy you eat with a spoon.  The flavor is tart, but it has been a great start to my day for my clean eating plan. And, I think the intense sour flavor of the Granny Smith apple, lemon juice and the ginger really help me feel more satisfied.

I eat about 6 ounces in the morning for breakfast or as a snack. A 10-ounce “slushy” is only 35 calories , 7 grams of carb, 2 grams of protein and 3 grams of fiber.  I make a large batch at the beginning of the week and fill an 8-ounce glass each morning to eat on my way to work. This a great antioxidant smoothie to detoxify your body, boost immunity and reduce inflammation.

Some of the benefits of each ingredient include:

  • Ginger. Ginger contains an active ingredient known as gingerol, which is notorious for its anti-inflammatory properties. Gingerol has been proven in  studies to inhibit highly reactive oxidants within the body as well as stimulate blood flow to skin, resulting in a more vibrant, rosy appearance
  • Celery. Celery contains vitamins K, A and C, folate, potassium, as well as a unique compound, known as 3-n-butylphthalide, which has shown to enhance cognitive function in mice.
  • Granny Smith Apple. Granny Smith apples are loaded with vitamin C and fiber, as well as have been show to play a role in regulating blood sugar levels and keeping teeth healthy.
  • Lemon juice. Citrus fruits are powerhouses of vitamin C and aid in digestion.
3 comments

  1. Mmmmm… sounds yummy! I’ll try it:)

    1. Awesome! Please let me know what you think! 🙂

  2. low cost high benefits. What a great recipe for life!

Leave a Reply

