My New Favorite Cookbook

Kris Carr’s CrAzY SEXY Kitchen

Crazy Sexy Kitchen1As you know, for 2013 one of my New Year’s Resolutions was to really focus on clean eating. That meant finding creative ways to make fresh vegetables taste new and exciting everyday. Lucky for me, or as fate would have it, my husband forwarded me an article about Kris Carr, the “Crazy Sexy Cancer Thriver.”

Her story was intriguing and highly motivating. If you haven’t heard of her or at least read her story, you should check out this article: Meet the Crazy Sexy Cancer SurvivorI immediately ordered her cookbook, Crazy Sexy Kitchen. Now, I am not a vegan and I never will be, (I’m from Texas eating meat is part of the job description) but I don’t have to have meat at every meal. 

“Don’t just live – THRIVE!”

After only a week, I have fallen in love with this cookbook! I really like some of the philosophies Kris discusses in the  introduction – especially when she references epigenetics – it sounds geeky, but this science is the new frontier of medicine. Science has uncovered some pretty hardcore evidence that your health destiny is truly in your hands.

The cookbook is fantastic. The recipes aren’t complicated (I’m no chef) and she teamed up with some very talented chefs to make certain these recipes are anything but bland.  From super smoothies to zany salads to hearty plant-based meals, Kris Carr and her partner in crime, Chef Chad Sarno, have made clean eating simple and absolutely delightful. And, Kris’ is story is beyond inspiring – she is living proof that you are in control of your health. Don’t just live – thrive!

So far, my favorite recipe is her Crazy Sexy Kale Salad, check out the recipe below – you’re going to love it!

Crazy-Sexy-Kale2INGREDIENTS

1 bunch kale, any variety, shredded by hand
1 cup diced bell peppers, red, yellow, or orange
1⁄4 cup chopped parsley
1 1⁄2 avocados, pit removed and chopped
2 tablespoons flax oil
1 1⁄2 tablespoons lemon juice
Sea salt, to taste
Pinch of cayenne, to taste

DIRECTIONS

In a medium mixing bowl, combine all ingredients. Massage and mix with your hands to “wilt” the kale and cream the avocado (this should only take a minute or two), and serve.

I will admit that I used a mix of dark leafy greens that included kale. I am just not a fan of kale all on its own. If you give this a try, be sure to tell me what you think in the comments below or share recipes you have tried from Kris Carr. (And, no I didn’t wrap the cucumber around my salad –  I’m not sure I can do that! I simply chopped up some cucumber and tossed it with the salad.)

4 comments

  1. I’m gonna have to check this one out. The science of Epigenetics is quite amazing! There is a great video online by Nova that is fantastic.

    1. Thanks for stopping by! Yes – I saw that video when I was in school – it was major part of our discussion. So interesting!

  2. Readers, if you want to see the video by NOVA and learn more about epigenetics, follow this link: http://exm.nr/SE138w

  3. Thank for the recommendation. I will check it out!

Leave a Reply

